Once every 24 hours, every game world has to save the changes in characters' stats, levels, items, etc. Before such a server save can take place, all characters in the game world have to be logged out. Therefore, you may get notification messages like:
hh:55 Server is saving game in 5 minutes. Please come back in 10 minutes. hh:57 Server is saving game in 3 minutes. Please come back in 10 minutes. hh:59 Server is saving game in 1 minute. Please log out.
hh: hour before hour of server save of a server
Since September 21st 2011 all servers save at 10:00 CEST/CET.
Before September 21st 2011 there were few different times of for the server saves. On this date Cip synchronised the daily server saves to improve maintenance processes. From then on, the daily server save takes place at 10:00 CEST/CET on all game worlds.
But now, Cipsoft has changed the rules for logging out before the Server Save. Players can now no longer log out with a logout block unless they are forced to by the server shutting down.
Here are some recommendations if you are playing shortly before a server save:
- Leave your hunting cave immediately, or at least move your character to a place with little or no respawn. In the past it was common to die shortly after logging in into full spawn. However, since Update 9.5 it is no longer so dangerous to login in full spawn of monsters. Remember that the monsters will not see you anymore during 10 seconds period after login, unless you move or attack.
- If possible, go inside a Protection Zone, Player-killers often wait for server save to prey on others, as they are forced to logout at server save time, which dramatically cuts down the time they are skulled.
- If you are logged out at a dangerous place, try using one of your lower level characters to ask a friend with a level (preferably) equal or higher than yours to "rescue" you by clearing the spawn before you log in, this can potentially save your life, or at least prevent you from wasting a lot of mana or potions.
- Depots are usually refresh zones, i.e. they are reset to their original state after each server save to keep them clean (Floor Reset). If you put items you don't want to lose over your depot box (or anywhere else in the depot), and people trash them, just use Browse Field to be able to rescue them in time.
- Server saves are there to save the data of everybody, so if the server crashes they can look back at the latest server save before the crash, and reset it to that point.